When is workers’ compensation denied after an accident?

On Behalf of | Jun 8, 2020 | Workers' Compensation |

Thousands of accidents occur in the workplace. Sadly, many of these accidents were preventable and occurred due to some oversight in safety. Others were simply unavoidable incidents that were a result of exceptional circumstances.

If you have recently been injured in an accident in your workplace, it’s likely that you’ll be wondering about the possibility of gaining back workers’ compensation. The vast majority of injured workers are entitled to this, but there are exceptions. The following are the main reasons why workers’ compensation claims are denied.

You did not take action soon enough

If you are injured in a workplace in California, you must give notice of your work-related injury to your employer within 30 days of the occurrence. Then you have 1 year in which to file a claim. If you do not act within the given time frame, you may not be able to claim the compensation that you deserve.

Your injury was not work-related

Your injury must have been caused by a work-related activity. If the injury did not occur at work or if you were engaging in horseplay when the injury occurred, you will not be eligible for workers’ compensation.

You do not have workers’ compensation coverage

Not everyone is covered by workers’ compensation. Federal employees, seamen and labor workers will need to look into other compensation acts that are in place to protect them.

If you have been injured in the California workplace but you are unsure about whether you are entitled to compensation, you should take swift action to better understand the law and to take the appropriate steps.

FindLaw Network